Jaden

One of my favorite life-long hobbies has been reading far too deeply into pop music. I LOVE radio. As soon as I got my first cd player (I grew up listening mostly to tapes. how weird is that), mp3 player, access to the internet (KaZaA, anyone?), I immersed myself in hip-hop, rap, and pop. Aside from Dave Matthews Band and the soft rock my family usually listened to, the first two songs I remember playing on repeat for days was Angel by Shaggy and Clint Eastwood by the Gorillaz. Yup: girl got taste.

I still listen to the radio constantly while I’m driving and when I’m in the shower. I have all my favorite stations carefully ordered, and the I Heart Radio app is prominent on my portable devices. Whenever E and I drive anywhere, I’m in charge of the music.

One of the few things I actually enjoy about the Philadelphia area is that Will Smith is also from there. I LOVE Will Smith. I love his music and his movies and his wife and his adorable kids. Love love love.

There’s a big stink all over social media/media with nothing else to talk about regarding something Jaden Smith tweeted the other day about education not being valuable.

“If Everybody In The World Dropped Out Of School We Would Have A Much More Intelligent Society.”

I have a few things to say about this:

1) Why do you care what a 15-year old kid thinks? Of course he doesn’t want to go to school. No 15 year old kid really wants to be in school for 8 hours a day. Is this news? I remember how much fun school was. It sucked. I loved textbooks, and it still sucked. Especially when you’re in this kid’s position, making huge amounts of money, actively involved in music and cinema business endeavors, doing talk shows and concerts. How much is he really getting out of traditional schooling that will help him in his current chosen career? Debateable.

2) Social media these days puts HUGE amounts of pressure on celebrities, especially young ones, to be in the limelight all the time. To act constantly, to brand yourself, to never say or do anything too stupid. So Justin Bieber peed somewhere he shouldn’t have. So Jaden Smith tweeted something stupid. I bet you’ve done dumber things in your life. I certainly have. Thank goodness the entire internet wasn’t there to remark on it, right?

3) I’m a student. I learn. That’s part of who I am, and that’s what I’ve done most of my life so far. I have a real job right now, but I plan to enroll in a graduate program in the few years, and then it’ll be back to hittin’ the books. In my downtime while I’m working, I’ve studied for and passed the F.E., taught myself how to program in Python (and a little bit of HTML and CSS as well), and I’m constantly reading books and listening to podcasts, much of them related to nuances in nutrition, medicine, and public health. However, I think Jaden makes a great point: at some point, you have to stop learning and start doing. You can spend your whole life reading about something , or listening to people talk about something, but at some point you have dig in and do it. I’m glad that I didn’t rush right from undergrad into a graduate program, because taking a break and doing has given me important perspective and experience.

This tweet ties in with a whole nother (I love how silly this phrase is when you type it out) rant that E and I go off on together pretty frequently about flaws in the current education system in America, and what steps one could take, on a small (personal) or large (policy-wise) scale to remedy it. I think getting kids involved in valuable roles in society as early as possible would be hugely beneficial to everyone.

So, maybe Jaden actually meant, School Is Dumb And Learning Isn’t Important. Or maybe he meant that experience can be more valuable than sitting in a room full of people being told what to do. If you’re not sure, why not just give the kid the benefit of the doubt?

(The tweet discussed above was soon followed by: “Everybody Get Off Your Phones And Go Do What You Actually Wanna Do.” For what that’s worth.)

For your derping pleasure, please enjoy the rest of the Hermione buzzfeed  as well as this  gif.  You’re welcome.

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous, Pop Culture. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

